RENT AND ROYALTY SCHEDULE

Adopted November 22, 2005 Effective December 1, 2005

Permit Fees, Rents and Royalties

Some fees and royalties are defined by statute while others are within the discretion of the Commission. All rents and royalties are subject to change. Rents and royalties are due and payable only after the proposed project is approved.

Current permit fees, which have remained unchanged since 1970, are specified in §28.2-1206.B of the Code of Virginia as the following.

Projects \$10,000 or less \$25.00 application fee Projects more than \$10,000 \$100.00 application fee

Current dredging fees, which were last adjusted in 1982, are specified in §28.2-1206.C of the Code of Virginia as the following.

Dredging (New) $$0.20 - $0.60 / yd^{3}$

RENT AND ROYALTY ASSESSMENTS

CATEGORY/ACTIVITY	SUB-CATEGORY	ADJUSTED <u>RANGE</u>	RECOMMENDED ASSESSMENT *
Placement of Fill	Private Beach Nourishment	$$0 - $1.00 / ft^2$	\$0.05 /ft²
	Riprap	\$0 - \$0.35 /ft²	0
	Conversion of Subtidal Habitat to Wetlands	\$0 - \$0.50 /ft²	0
	Timber Jetty/Groin/Boat Ramp	\$0 - \$0.75 /ft²	\$0.50 /ft ²
	Upland Creation	\$0.25 - \$5.25 /ft ²	
	Private		\$1.00 /ft ²
	Commercial		\$3.00 /ft ²
	Industrial		\$5.00 /ft ²

CATEGORY/ACTIVITY	SUB-CATEGORY	ADJUSTED RANGE	RECOMMENDED ASSESSMENT *
Crossings	Overhead, Suspended, Trenched or Directionally Drilled	\$3.00 / linear ft	\$3.00 / linear ft
Open-Pile Structures	Heavy Industrial/Commercial	\$0.35 - \$3.50 /ft²	\$2.00 / ft²
	Commercial Recreational Private Use Marinas (Dockominiums)	\$0.30 - \$2.50 / ft ²	\$1.50 / ft²
	Public Use Marinas (Marinas/Fishing Piers)	\$0.20 - \$1.75 / ft ²	\$1.00 / ft²
	Non-Commercial Mooring (Community Piers w/o slips)	\$0.10 - \$1.00 / ft ²	\$0.30 / ft²
Isolated Structures	Non-Riparian Mooring Buoys/Piles (Commercial)	\$200.00 – \$1,000.00 ea	\$500.00 ea
	Non-Riparian Mooring Buoys/Piles (Private)	\$100.00 - \$500.00 ea	\$100.00 ea
Aquaculture**	Floating structures/cages (for outline of area occupied) Facilities	N/A	\$0.05/ft²
	(piers, docks, wharf, etc)	N/A	\$1.50/ft²

- * Annual rental equal to 1/10 single royalty assessment can be prescribed if the minimum single royalty assessment, not including that assessed for dredging, exceeds \$5000.00
- ** The royalty amounts for aquaculture structures and facilities were set in response to Commission case decisions (i.e. #07-1230). Category updated August 27, 2010.